top of page

Hacking a Paddlers Website from paddling Mom to Momager

So, here I am hacking Randy's web page and hoping I know how to write a “Blog” without sounding silly. For those of you that are paddling parents, you know what I am talking about when I describe the rank smell of wet gear forgotten in the car or the ever popular park cry of “One more lap”. Maybe both halves of the parental unit paddle or support the paddling or possibly there is a grumpy other half at home with a burned meatloaf burned because you gave into the pleading for “just one more lap”. I am neither one of those because I usually find myself swimming along side of my offspring while he tries to catch my boat. My husband and I give it our best shot and just try not to embarrass the family name.

The people that know Jesse and I, know we are extremely proud of Randy, you also know that once or twice in my life I have been accused of being slightly overprotective. I bet you don't know what kind of change in my life has occurred because my son found his passion. The first time we sent Randy for a lesson he was very unhappy with us. He was pulled away from his PlayStation 3 and dropped into a world of physical activity with a little dash of danger. This did not go over very well. It took four or five lessons and the friendship of some guy named Pablo to light a little fire under him and get him to really try at something. Since then Randy has turned into an brilliant paddler and amazing young man.

I myself am amazed at the changes, not only physical, but mental that have taken place in him. He trys harder at everything he does, he is more responsible, and he gives more of himself to people, everyday.

I thank god for paddling, it brought my little family together and gave us something to share with one another. It always blows my mind when I go to the mall and look at the teenagers there, nobody is with their Mom and Dad. Nobody is laughing with their parents and planning the next weekends adventure. I soak in the moments when Randy gets out of that water and throws him arm around me and tells me the latest tale of carnage that just occurred or how he plans to dodge the next obstacle with his best friends at his side.

This week my son and his best friends are giving their all to a cause that means so much to them. They are paddling for 5 days straight, 12 hours a day to raise money to help out a friend. Their friend just lost his Dad to Mesothelioma. The kids are tired, soar, and not to mention sunburned and grumpy. But, they are together doing what they love for one another. Do you know how proud that makes me? I raised that kid, I helped create the person he is today, I am so proud of him. I guess the point I am trying to make here is that paddling saved my family. We no longer sit in separate rooms and do our own thing. We are healthier and have lost weight. We eat better and exercise more. But most of all we have joined a community that has taught us how to give to others in so many different ways. From a ride here or there, a loaner boat, or like our kids, devoting an entire week to help out in whatever way they can. A big thank you to paddling, my son and his friends.


bottom of page